top of page
  • Writer's pictureTania Wee

What you need to know about ETIAS visa

Written by Ilona Chin

ETIAS stands for European Travel Information and Authorization System. ETIAS was created to improve the screening of travellers to the region. The system was designed by the EU to strengthen border control and to protect both Europeans living in the Schengen Zone and visitors travelling to it. The legal procedures to pass the ETIAS started in 2016, and the system will officially take into effect starting in 2021. 

What is ETIAS visa?

The ETIAS visa waiver will be a mandatory legal requirement for Malaysians when entering the Schengen Zone from 2021 onwards. The ETIAS visa waiver will allow Malaysians to travel freely, between countries, around the Schengen Zone. Each citizen from the visa-free countries can stay in the Schengen Area (all EU states except Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, Ireland, Romania and The United Kingdom) for a period up to 90 days in any 180 days. 

How do I apply for the ETIAS?

The application process is simple as it can be done online at least 72 hours before departure. It only takes up to 15 minutes and cost €7, which is about RM33. Applicants under the age of 18 do not have to pay the processing fee, If your application is approved, you will receive an authorisation directly by email. Among the documentation requirements for this process includes a valid passport, a valid credit card, applicants contact information including the address of permanent residence, phone number and email address.

What countries is within the Schengen Zone?

The 26 Schengen countries which require ETIAS online authorisation are Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

What is the ETIAS visa validity?

The visa waiver is valid for three years, or until the ETIAS holder’s passport expires. If the passport expires, the traveller will need to apply for a new ETIAS visa waiver to enter the Schengen Zone. You’ll be able to click on all the individual countries of the Schengen region to see their current and future visa requirements. 

Travelling to Europe is still visa-free for now!

There is no better time than the present to kickstart the Euro-trip of your dreams before the new visa regulation takes place in 2021. If you’re not sure when to take your leave and how you can make the post of your experience, then just follow us on Facebook or sign up for the e-newsletter for special deals. What are you waiting for? Start planning now and live your Europe dream with Sedunia Travel.

5 views0 comments


bottom of page